2013 Susan Bursk Community Service Award winner: Paula Waxman

The Susan Bursk Community Service Award is presented each June at the SoRo Festival to an individual in recognition of his or her dedication and service to the South Robertson Neighborhoods community. The award is co-sponsored by SORO NC and the SoRo Community Foundation, Inc.

This year's winner was Paula Waxman. As Co-Chair of SORO NC's Green Team with Larry Hess and Saran Kirschbaum, Paula has helped spearhead some of the most dynamic programs in our area. In addition to founding the Hamilton High Garden, organizing annual fruit picks to benefit local food banks, and co-ordinating the 2012 Robertson and 2013 Pico tree plantings, under Paula's stewardship the Green Team has lead the City on policy issues like the elimination of coal burning power plants, plastic bag and styrofoam restrictions, GMO food labeling, urban beekeeping, and a moritorium on fracking.

At our June Board meeting we will also recognize the other community members nominated this year:

  • Charmaine Colina - Teacher at Castle Heights
  • Larry DeMers - SoRo Community Foundation Treasurer
  • Terrence Gomes - SORO NC Treasurer, President LAANC
  • Erick Morales - Hamilton Student/Former SORO NC board member
  • Aubrey Provost - Property Owner, SoRo Community Foundation board member
  • Celine Sotelo - Le Petit Jardin Restaurant/Flower shop

We're deeply grateful for the work all the nominees have done within SORO, and congratulate them on their nominations.

south robertson NC

© 2024 soronc.org.

Contact Us


Social Media

Are you sure you want to remove this?

Please enter the email address you would like to send this to